thechickandthepea

Mediterranean Couscous and Sautéed Cherry Tomatoes

In Main dish on June 24, 2010 at 9:40 pm

tomato

I have recently developed a mild love affair with Mediterranean food.  I happily could live off babaganoosh and pita bread.  Like any true love, it can be costly, and I have found myself eating out at Phoenicians and BFS Restaurant at least once a week.  As such, I felt that it was time I invested in a Mediterranean cookbook, which is how I ended up with The Mediterranean Vegan Kitchen.  I expect that this cookbook will make its way into the regular rotation.

My first meal made from this book was Zucchini-Lemon Couscous (p. 101) served with Sautéed Cherry Tomatoes with Mediterranean Herbs (p. 157).  The light bite of the lemon and the powerful flavor of the seasoning on the tomatoes really complimented each other.  Also, the couscous is a very dry dish and it goes very well with the juicy cherry tomatoes, which burst in your mouth on the first bite.

IMG_2060

Read more after the jump…

Zucchini-Lemon Couscous
Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 bunch scallions, white parts chopped, 1/2 cup very thinly sliced green tops reserved
  • 1 medium zucchini, finely diced
  • 2 cups vegetable broth
  • Juice of 1/2 large lemon (I added a splash of lemon juice)
  • 1/4 tsp chopped lemon peal
  • Salt and pepper, to taste
  • 1 1/2 cups instant couscous, preferably whole wheat

Directions

  1. Heat the oil in a medium sauce pan. Add white part of the scallions and cook while stirring so it doesn’t burn.  Cook for about two minutes.
  2. Add zucchini and cook, stirring, for another two minutes.
  3. Add the broth, lemon juice, lemon peel, salt, and pepper; bring to a boil over high heat.
  4. Stir in the couscous. Cover and remove from the heat.  Let stand until all the liquids are absorbed, about 7 minutes.
    If you are cooking the tomatoes, start now!
  5. Uncover and fluff the couscous with a fork.  Add the reserved green scallion greens and toss well with a fork.  Serve warm or at room temperature.

Sautéed Cherry Tomatoes with Mediterranean Herbs
Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 tbsp extra-virgin olive oil
  • 4 cups cherry tomatoes
  • 3 tbsp finely chopped fresh basil, mint, tarragon, thyme, oregano, chives, parsley, cilantro, and or/ chervil (I used a mixture of parsley, oregano, and mint – I strongly recommend the parsley)
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Directions

  1. In a skillet, heat the olive oil over medium heat.  Add the tomatoes and cook, tossing and stirring often for about three minutes, until the skin begins to split.  Be careful not to overcook.
  2. Remove from heat and toss with herbs. Serve immediately.

Wednesday1

  1. Girl, y ou are a veg genius! Look at this gorgeous food!! I love Mediterranean food, but don’t eat it nearly as much as I would love too.

    I need to learn to cook better is what I need to do! Baking I got it covered….I just need your house for dinner 😉

    XXOO

Leave a Reply

