thechickandthepea

My Seitan Tastes Like Seitan

In Staple Food Items on June 20, 2010 at 10:52 am

seitan loaf Oh Seitan, how do I love thee?  Let me count the ways.

  1. Your name sounds like Satan and allows me to make lots of super lame cool puns.
  2. You are packed with protein levels comparable to steak!
  3. Unlike steak, you contains no saturated fat or cholesterol.
  4. Also unlike steak, you are much lower in calories than steak, too!
  5. You are delicious and cruelty free!

Basically, it is a fabulous meat substitute and this chick absolutely loves it.  However, I do not like the cost- $5.00 for 8 oz definitely means that I cannot eat seitan regularly.  Or so I thought.

Lo and behold Vegan on the Cheap: Great Recipes and Simple Strategies that Save You Time and Money by Robin Robertson.  I bought this fabulous book in preparation for graduate school and two years of poverty. I strongly recommend it! The author has tons of tips about saving money while still eating well. This includes a seitan recipe that Robertson says costs less tan 50 cents per serving.  I bought a lot of the ingredients from the bulk section of the co-op, which was way cheaper than buying them in the boxes… so it may have cost less than estimated.

See the ingredients, directions, and more pictures after the jump…

As I have never made seitan before, I didn’t make any adjustments.  It turned out great – Josh liked it better than the seitan we usually buy at the co-op.  Even after making Seitan Po’ Boys, I still have tons of left overs.  I won’t change anything next time that I make it.

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup canned or cooked white beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce (I recommend using low sodium soy sauce)
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 1/4 cups vegetable stock
  • 2 cups wheat gluten flour (vital wheat gluten)
  • 1/3 cup nutritional yeast
  • 2 tsp onion powder
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt

Directions

  1. Preheat over to 350 degrees F.  In a blender or food processor, combine beans, soy sauce oil, and vegetable stock and blend until smooth.
  2. In a large bowl, combine the flour, yeast, onion powder, garlic powder, and salt.  Mix to combine.
  3. Stir the wet mixture into the dry mixture to make soft dough.  Kneed for 3 minutes and then shape into an oval loaf.Oval Loaf
  4. Place the loaf on an oiled sheet of foil and enclose it in the foil.  Place the loaf in a 10-inch baking pan.  Add an inch of water to the pan and tightly cover the pan with foil.
  5. Bake until firm about 1 hour and 45 minutes.

As I waited for the dough to cook, which kind of goes against my natural inclination to make very quick dishes, I took the opportunity to clean up, plan for dinner, and see what my cat was up to.  He had crawled into a vase full of fake flowers and was hiding in there like a creature stalking his pray.

a tiger lurking

One hour and 45 minutes later it was done and totally worth the wait.  As I mentioned above, it turned out great!  It was very firm and tasty.

020

While it looks like a loaf of bread, the taste is extremely different.  It is harder and chewier than bread.

I highly recommend this recipe and the cookbook it came from!  This recipe is definitely going to become a part of my regular food rotation.

I used the seitan to make anther recipe from Robertson’s book, Cajun Spiced Seitan Po’ Boys.  My next entry will be about it, so check back soon!

Seitan Po' Boy

  1. I followed your advice and actually made this. And it was good. Better than some other seitan recipes I have tried. Thanks for sharing. Now I just have to find a recipe to use it up!

  2. […] Vegan on the Cheap (p. 51). I have had success with Robin Robertson’s recipes before, so when The Chick + the Pea posted about this recipe, I was all over it.I especially like the cooking method: place your shaped […]

Leave a Reply

