thechickandthepea

Red Chile Asparagus and Quinoa

In Main dish on June 17, 2010 at 9:33 pm

Delicious and easy!

So it has been a few days since the last post- what a whirlwind!  Since I last posted, I have been to Pittsburgh and I found a fabulous apartment!  It is absolutely lovely and it makes me even more excited to begin grad school.  Unfortunately, I ended up getting a bit of a nasty cold and have been out of commission for a few days.  Never fear, I am all better and lots of cooking is about to commence!  I have major culinary plans for the next week.

Until then, here is a meal that I made last week when I was in a bit of a pinch.  It was quick, easy, nutritious, and delicious- my favorites!

Read more after the jump…

This idea for this recipe came from this lunch recipe in Vegetarian Times.  I don’t have a grill and am rarely home for lunch, so grilling these fabulous vegetables for lunch isn’t feasible.  So instead, I used a grill pan, which is one of my favorite kitchen items! I also cooked some quinoa in my rice cooker, thereby infusing my dinner with loads of protein and nutrients.  The chile sauce absolutely makes this dish.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup uncooked quinoa
  • 2 cups vegetable broth
  • 12 asparagus spears, trimmed
  • 1 small red bell pepper cut into 1/2 inch strips
  • 1 small yellow summer squash, cut into 1/4-inch thick rounds
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2 red onion, cut into slicess
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 4 tbsp red chile sauce
  • 2 tbsp basil

Directions

  1. Preheat a grill pan.
  2. Put the quinoa, vegetable broth, basil, and onion slices in the rice cooker.  Turn it on and let the quinoa take care of itself.
  3. Toss the asparagus, bell pepper, squash, olive oil, and garlic on the grill pan. “Grill” 4 – 6 minutes per side, turning once.
  4. With two minutes left, add the red chile sauce.  Spread it all over the vegetables.

That is it!  Delicious!

Leave a Reply

