thechickandthepea

Oh my, now that’s a tasty burger!

In Lunch, Main dish on June 6, 2010 at 1:53 pm

burger

I woke up (rather late) this morning to the vibrations of thunder reverberating throughout the apartment.  There is a torrential downpour occurring outside – complete with a local tornado warning – so there is absolutely no way I am leaving the apartment anytime soon!  It is the perfect opportunity to upload backlogged pictures recipes and tremendously update this little blog.

rain drops

This veggie burger recipe comes from 101 Cookbooks, one of my favorite cooking blogs.  I was feeling thrifty yesterday and wanted to cook something that I could save in the refrigerator or freezer for a busy night in which I don’t have the energy to cook.  I was going to cook my usual black bean burgers but, alas, that damn pantry is still super low.  I will have to remedy this situation soon.  Maybe when it stops raining.  Anyway, I went in search of a burger recipe that didn’t involve black beans and, voila, I stumbled across this recipe from 101 Cookbooks.

See more after the jump….

I didn’t change much at all.  Only differences:

  • I ate my burger on a bun on a bun instead of using it like a bun, which is what Heidi of 101 Cookbooks suggests.   They really would be fantastic without the bun, I just really wanted full burger treatment.
  • I used basil because I am out of cilantro OK, I never have cilantro.  Basil isn’t a substitute for cilantro but it was still tasty.
  • I used lemon juice because I didn’t have a lemon to zest.

Ingredients

  • 1 can chickpeas
  • 1 cup egg whites
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 4 tbsp basil
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 big splash of lemon
  • 1 cup micro sprouts
  • 1 cup toasted whole-grain bread crumbs

Directions

  1. Puree the beans, eggs, and salt in a blender until it resembles a chunky hummus.
  2. Pour the mixture into a mixing bowl and stir in the basil, onion, lemon and sprouts.
  3. Add the bread crumbs, stir, and let sit for a couple of minutes.
  4. Heat a lightly-oiled large skillet over medium-low heat. Create 4 1.5 inch thick patties- I find it best to drop a heaping spoonful onto the pan and use the back of the spoon to create the patty shape.  Cover the pan and let them cook for 7-10 minutes, until the bottoms begin to brown.  Flip and cook the other side for about 7 minutes, or until lightly brown.
  5. If you are using the veggie burger as the bun, cut it in half and stuff it full of your favorite burger condiments and veggies.  Alternatively, put it on a bun or English muffin with the same items.

I topped my burger with tomato, spinach, and spicy mustard.

I froze half of the buns that I didn’t eat and put the other half in refrigerator.  Will let you know how they hold up!

burger2

Leave a Reply

