thechickandthepea

Strawberry Nut Bread

In Breads and Deserts on June 5, 2010 at 7:43 pm

bread

This weekend is the first weekend of strawberry season!  I have been patiently waiting for this weekend since last fall when the price of tasteless imported strawberries skyrocketed to $5.00 for one of those little plastic containers.  They are so dry inside that they hardly resemble fresh strawberries.

I went to my local U-Pick this afternoon and bought pounds upon pounds of strawberries- all for less than $10!  I forgot my camera and had to use my phone camera, so the picture of the field is a little shabby.

U-Pick

I haven’t gone grocery shopping in quite a few days so I really had to scrounge around my kitchen to figure out what I could make with these freshly picked strawberries.

berries

I finally settled on making a strawberry bread, which I have never made or eaten before.  I based the recipe off this recipe from Workout then Cook.  I made a few minor alternations along the way but I basically used the same recipe.

Read more after the jump….

  • I substituted applesauce for the oil in order to reduce the fat
  • I used walnuts instead of pecans because that is what I had in my kitchen.  Ditto for the egg whites.
  • I would have substituted 3/4 cups plus 2 tbsp honey for the one cup of sugar (which I highly recommend if you have a properly stocked pantry!) but I only had about 1/4 cup of honey.  Well, so I thought.  I found another bottle of honey in my pantry later in the afternoon.
  • As my liquid content was a little higher than in the original recipe, I cooked the bread for the full 60 minutes.

It was fabulous!  I have already devoured about 1/2 of it! :-X

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups sliced strawberries
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • ~1/4 cup honey
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup egg whites
  • 3/4 cup applesauce
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. In a large bowl, combine flour, honey, sugar (if applicable), baking soda, salt and cinnamon.
  3. Combine egg whites, applesauce,  and strawberries in a medium bowl.  Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and stir until the dry ingredients are moist.  Stir in the walnuts.
  4. Pour the batter into a greased loaf pan.  Bake for 60 minutes or until a toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean.
  5. Cool for 10 minutes before devouring.

    bread2

Hint: fat free breads taste excellent the next day- try to save some for the second day.  You will be pleasantly surprised.  This is especially true if you nix the regular flour and use 100% whole wheat flour.

  1. It sounds delicious. I’m gonna’ try the recipe without the walnuts. I’m a little confused about my options with the honey and sugar combos. I’d like to use more honey and then Splenda as a replacement for a lesser amount of sugar. Do you think that would work?

    Thanks,

    • You could use all honey and no sugar or Splenda at all, which I recommend because honey is a natural sweetener. If you do not use any sugar or Splenda , use 3/4 + 2 tbsp honey and reduce the applesauce by about a tablespoon or two so it isn’t too watery.

      Less wordy:
      1 cup sugar = 3/4 cup and 2 tbsp honey – reduce other liquids a bit so it isn’t too watery since you are replacing a solid with a liquid.

      If you want to use a honey and sugar/Splenda combo like I did, which I only did because I didn’t have enough honey to completely replace the sugar, try to keep the above proportion in mind.

  2. Well, I made the bread today, as per the recipe above except that I substituted the 2/3 cup of sugar for 2/3 cup of Splenda. I kept the honey at 1/4 cup. It’s incredibly delicious, just about the best bread ever and certainly the best *healthy* bread I’ve had. I used a little Smart Balance zero calorie Buttery Burst spray and that was good but it’s moist and good enough to eat as-is from the over.

    I wonder if this recipe would work with blueberries instead of strawberries? My husband loves blueberries and I can’t use our old best-ever recipe because it calls for tons of butter.

    Meanwhile, I can hardly wait to get to the store and buy more strawberries so I can try the recipe again.

Leave a Reply

