thechickandthepea

Whole-Wheat Apple-Cinnamon Pancakes

In Breakfast on May 31, 2010 at 1:03 pm

classic pancake stack

Growing up, my father rarely cooked for us; the culinary duties fell upon my mother (kudos to my mother!).  On the occasional weekend, however, my father would sneak down to the kitchen and whip up a homemade breakfast for my brother and me.  I absolutely loved these weekends because they put my father in a new role and gave us a reprise from the humdrum of cereal.  This little gesture made the entire weekend feel different and special.  Consequently, I use ‘special’ breakfasts as a way to connote that this weekend or morning is different from other days.

On that note: TODAY IS A MONDAY AND I AM NOT AT WORK!!!  OH SNAP, SNAP, SNAP!  I slept in until 9:30 today and one of my first thoughts when I woke up, right after “wow, it is really bright outside,” was “I am well rested and don’t have to go to work.  This deserves a special breakfast.”

Read more after the jump…

My normal, non-special breakfast is scrambled eggs loaded with vegetables, black beans and/or veggie sausage; I really like starting the day with a high-protein meal.  As my father always said, breakfast is the most important meal of the day!  Oh, and I start the mornings off with multiple cups of coffee, of course.  I am on a blueberry coffee kick right now.

breakfast

However, on this special day in which I also had time to whip something up, I made pancakes for myself and Josh!  This recipe made 8 pancakes, so I froze the leftovers.

I made the pancakes without sugar but you could easily add honey or sugar if you wanted.

Ingredients

  • 1 1/4 cups whole wheat flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp cinnamon (or to taste)
  • 1 1/3 cups milk or soymilk
  • 3/4 tsp vanilla
  • 1 egg (or egg replacer)
  • 1/2 medium sized apple, diced

Directions

  1. Heat a non-stick skillet over medium heat.  Lightly cover it with a non-stick spray.
  2. In a large bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, and cinnamon.  Add the milk, vanilla, and egg or egg replacer and stir until mixed.  Let it stand for a few minutes to thicken.
  3. Stir in the apple pieces.
  4. Drop 1/4 cupfuls onto the hot skillet.  Flip them when the tops are bubbly and the edges are visibly done (i.e. cooked and look like pancakes).  Cook until they are golden brown.  If you use a lot of cinnamon, they may look darker brown.
  5. Replicate step 4 until all of the batter is used.  You may have to reapply the nonstick spray.

I topped my pancakes with strawberry jam and they were delicious!  Perfect way start to start this day!

fat stack

  1. Yum! I just tried these. Absolutely delicious.

Leave a Reply

